Question Unanswered: How Many Business Days Left

I need an ACCESS expression / function to determine how many business days are left in a month from any given date going forward. I have used DateDiff but that doesn't exclude weekends. Obviously I am a newbie so any assistance in certainly welcomed.

Sydney Australia

I don't have a fucntion that will do it but I can get the result.

Firstly, make a table with one number field and enter 0 to 365 if you want a year.

Then make a query on the table and add this calculated field. We will call the field that has 0 to 365 NumberDays and the calulated field MyCalendar

MyCalendar: [NumberDays]+Date()

This results in the a column that always start with the current date.

Now add another filed for DayNumber:Weekday([MyCalendar]) which will give 1 for Sunday and 7 for Saturday

Now add and IIf field Number: IIf([DayNumer] Like 1 Or [DayNumber] Like 7,1,0)

So we are going to finish with a field that has 1 for Saturday and Sunday and of course 0 for the weekdays.

Now make the query to select on the above from current date to future date and total the field DayNumber and that of course will count the number of saturdays and Sundays between the two dates

Ok, now you do date difference in days between the current date and some future date and get a number answer and subtract the result of the Saturday and Sunday count.

Put an unbound text box on your form and the criteria in the query being
    <=[Forms]![MyForm]![Text box]

Make a little form on the final count query and have a macro open it and a SetValue macro to run OnCurrent so as to set the count result in a text box on your form.

Hopefully someone will have a function but if not the above should get you over the line.

Yea you can make a function call(s).