Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5

    Cool Unanswered: How to restore from ontape backup, if ontape -r give error Bad Tape?

    IDS 9.3 FC1
    OS HPUX 11i

    I backup my database with ontape -s -L 0
    and delete the database for reconfiguring disk system
    But when I trying to restore from this backup it give me error Bad Tape
    And all previous, backups give same error, though befor I restore from there.

    informix@income$ ontape -r

    Please mount tape 1 on /home/informix/backup/probe and press Return to continue ...

    Archive Tape Information

    Tape type: Archive Backup Tape
    Online version: Informix Dynamic Server Version 9.30.FC1
    Archive date: Sat Apr 24 12:45:50 2004
    User id: informix
    Terminal id: ?
    Archive level: 0
    Tape device: /dev/rmt/0m
    Tape blocksize (in k): 16
    Tape size (in k): 104857600
    Tape number in series: 1

    Spaces to restore:1 [rootdbs
    ]
    2 [blobinc
    ]
    3 [data
    ]
    4 [log
    ]
    5 [phspace
    ]
    6 [doclst
    ]

    Archive Information

    Informix Dynamic Server Copyright(C) 1986-1999 Informix Software, Inc.
    Initialization Time 08/14/2002 23:49:16
    System Page Size 2048
    Version 12
    Archive CheckPoint Time 04/24/2004 12:45:56

    Dbspaces
    number flags fchunk nchunks flags owner name
    1 1 1 1 N informix rootdbs
    2 1 2 10 N informix data
    3 1 3 1 N informix log
    4 1 13 1 N informix phspace
    5 11 14 13 N B informix blobinc
    6 1 22 2 N informix doclst


    Chunks
    chk/dbs offset size free bpages flags pathname
    1 1 0 256000 254026 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_000
    2 2 0 1024000 129 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_001
    3 3 0 1024000 123947 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_011
    4 2 0 1024000 2 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_002
    5 2 0 1024000 9591 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_003
    6 2 0 1024000 83627 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_004
    7 2 0 1024000 68336 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_005
    8 2 0 1024000 155158 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_006
    9 2 0 1024000 734353 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_007
    10 2 0 1024000 984221 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_008
    11 2 0 1024000 1023997 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_009
    12 2 0 1024000 1023997 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_010
    13 4 0 1024000 273947 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-chunk_104
    14 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob1
    15 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob2
    16 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob3
    17 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob4
    18 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob5
    19 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob6
    20 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob7
    21 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob8
    22 6 0 1024000 759655 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-table1
    23 6 0 1024000 1023997 PO- /dev/informix/ifx-table2
    24 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob9
    25 5 0 1024000 256000 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob10
    26 5 0 102400 25600 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob11
    27 5 102404 921596 230399 POB /dev/informix/ifx-blob11
    28 5 0 1000000 250000 POB /dev/vgdoclist/rlvol15

    Continue restore? (y/n)y
    Do you want to back up the logs? (y/n)n
    Physical restore failed -
    Bad tape.


    Program over.

    How I can restore database? My client killed me if I lose his data.
    In backup file I see data, but I can not to restore, I can pay money if who know to how I can get the data from backup file!!!!
    Last edited by Asylzhan; 05-03-04 at 13:14.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    183
    Hi,

    Don't have a fast solution but seems a problem for IBM Informix Tech Support. If services are paid, solution is free. Otherwise it will cost you some money.

    Sorry, but that looks the fastest solution,

    Rob Prop

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5
    IBM Informix Tech Support can not help me, He sed me only you can try to upgrate your versions of IDS to 9.3 FC7 from 9.3 FC1. And not give any warranty that This will be help. Probability 50/50
    I wait this patch (I can't find in internet).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1
    I got something similar to this problem before. It was a problem with the onconfig file. The onconfig file when I made the backup was different from the one when I restored it. It's worth to check.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    780
    Hi,

    Often occure that TAPEBLK is diferent.
    Please test with another size of TAPEBLK.
    Another test can be, read data with "dd" command.

    Good luck.
    Gustavo.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    54

    one guess

    Last time I saw a message like this, I was trying to make a cold restore with the engine in quiescent or on-line mode. Obviously this was my mistake! Rapidly, I took the engine off-line and tried again succesfully.

    Is this maybe your case?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    146
    Hi Aseke,

    Sorry I don't have a solution or suggestion for your problem, but I would suggest that you answer (Y)es when prompted "Do You Want To Back Up the Logs?".

    Good luck with your problem friend, I think a guru like Shriyan may have an idea or solution.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •