Unanswered: error trapping on form close

I have a form that has a before update function that is checking the validity of the data entered. My problem is this. If the user closes the form from the close box at the top of the form the before update function kicks in to check the data (this is good). If any of the data poops out the before update function cancels the entry. The next thing that happens is the problem - Access puts up a screen that says "You can't save this record at this time." It then goes on to warn the user that data changes made will not be saved. I attempted to use the form error event to catch this error text and replace it with something less confusing to complete novices. (my users) But my attempts failed. Its throwing an application or object defined error. How can I catch this error and replace its description with my own?

Hi

I’m not sure what the answer is, so probably the best thing would be to prevent the error happening in the first place. I haven’t had the same problem with any of my forms that check updates (despite trying to induce one now). How are you canceling the update? Is it on an update or insert that the error occurs (or both)? Have you tried popping in a breakpoint and stepping through the Before Update code? Does the error occur whether the data is valid or not? Sorry for all the questions, I just can't get mine to error. Thought it might have something to do with Keys but that didn't work either....

error trapping on form close