Unanswered: Btrieve API Tutorial

hihi
    ive been using the OLE DB for quite some time now in Vb6 and Pervasive.
    I want to use Btrieve API calls (or atleast attempt). I have a few examples and such which explains most of the functions and know hows etc.

I am though looking for more info bout Btrieve API calls from Vb6... mostly i'm looking for a tutorial that explains the example Code and syntax used. I did look at the (API Programmer's Reference from Pervasive.com) but its still a little confusing etc.

thx in advance
    cheerz

Provided Answers: 4
    Is there anything specific that is confusing? I don't know of a good tutorial but I've been using the Btrieve API for 8+ years now..
    Mirtheil Software
    Certified Pervasive Developer
    Certified Pervasive Technician
    Custom Btrieve/VB development
    http://www.mirtheil.com
    I do not answer questions by email. Please post on the forum.

hey thx for replying

I really dont know where to start..
    What is needed to start a VB project from scratch and to make that project do API calls to pervasive?
    Can I just add another Module and start coding my api functions and structures in there or do i need Source modules or something of that kind I am unaware of?

The Structure of my Mod if i should start to code now would be something like this.

'Delcaring Consts for API Functions that will be needed in my Status Command line that will execute the API Call (there's quite a few)
    ex. const BOPEN = 0
    const BINSERT = 2

'Then i would declare the Function i will be using to access the "w3btrv7.dll" file which in turn will access the specified record in Pervasive

ex. Declare Function BTRCALL Lib "w3btrv7.dll" (ByVal OP, ByVal Pb$, Db As Any, DL As Integer, Kb As Any, ByVal Kl, ByVal Kn) As Integer

'Then i would declare UDT, my fields and their Type

'After that i would assign values to those fields and then execute (if i'm inserting) and then use BTRCALL function to do the API call.