Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: shortcut on xp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634

    Unanswered: shortcut on xp

    does windows xp require a different command line for a shortcut. i have a shortcut to a db that uses the wrkgrp switch. it works fine on 98 and 2k, but xp doesn't seem to recognize the wrkgrp switch. i get that message about not having permission to open the db.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    As far as I know there is no difference.
    Make sure the path in the target line of the properties is right. Are you trying to access the secured database through the shortcut, and do the username have access to the database.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    The path is correct - it's a copy of the same shortcut that is functioning properly on several other machines. The only difference is that this machine is running xp.

    The login screen doesn't come up to ask for a user name, it's like the wrkgrp switch in the command line is being completely ignored.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    what is the target line of the shortcut properties icon say? can you post the whole line.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE" "mdb_path\mdb_filename.mdb" /WRKGRP "mdw_path\mdw_filename.mdw"


    It's the exact same shortcut that is working on the non-xp machines.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    My shortcut works fine on my XP Machine (as well as 3 others). Where is the database located. I think this is a location issue. XP uses a folder called Documents and Settings that isnt on 98. If you have the database in your my documents folder then you need to make it look there...
    C:\Documents and Settings\Your Username\My Documents\your.mdb

    Make sure your target also looks in there.

    JS

    if any of this doesnt make sense let me know.
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    The mdb and mdw file are both on a network drive. The drive is properly mapped and the target line definately points to the correct paths. The shortcut finds the mdb file. The problem is that the /wrkgrp switch is being ignored.

    JS...does your shortcut use the wrkgrp switch in the command line? If so I would be interested in seeing the target line from it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    I have a windows XP and uses the shortcut to access the secured database. The target line is
    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE" "G:\..\..\abc.mdb" /wrkgrp "G:\..\..\abc.MDW"

    Try joining your workgroup file, and try to access the database directly on the network drive, instead of accessing it through the shortcut, and see if it works. If it worked, then the access is fine, it is something with the shortcut. If not, then it is related to the access of the user who is logging into the database.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Here is all the info from my short cut.


    Target:
    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\MSACCESS.EXE" "C:\Documents and Settings\The Vortex\My Documents\CT Industries\ctrim.mdb" /WRKGRP "C:\Documents and Settings\The Vortex\My Documents\CT Industries\Secured.mdw"

    StartIn:
    "C:\Documents and Settings\The Vortex\My Documents\CT Industries"

    Let me know if you have any questions.
    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    One more question for both of you....
    What version of access are you running?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Access 2002 right here... but using version 2000 on the actual data.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    If you create a shortcut on the network drive to open the database and link to the .mdw... does that work? Could you try that and let me know?

    Thanks,
    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83
    Access 2000.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    I'm waiting for the user to leave for the night so I can go over and play. I'll let you guys know what happens.

    Thanks for all your input.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    Got it.

    The problem was the location on the access.exe file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •