Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14

    Arrow Unanswered: Microsoft SQL SERVER 2000 not working!!!

    I'm unable to gain connectivity to two stand- alone PC's having WIN XP PROFESSIONAL, v. 2002, through Microsoft SQL SERVER 2000.

    Both the PC's are stand-alone and have both have WIN XP PROF. I installed Microsoft SQL SERVER 2000 in which only the Client Components were successfully installed.

    I have the Administrator Rights on both the PC's.

    The Problem on both the PC's that I'm facing is as follows:-

    On starting SQL Server Enterprise Manager, the PC was not detected as a Server under the SQL Server Group, and thus I selected the option 'New SQL Server Registration', then I gave my full computer name (as appears in the properties of 'my computer'), selected Windows Authentication and then selected OK to start or connect.

    It did not connect and then I got the following error message:

    -------------------------------------------
    A connection could not be established to 'COMPUTER NAME'.

    Reason: SQL Server does not exist or access denied.

    ConnectionOpen(Connect())

    Please verify SQL Server is running and check your SQL Server registration property (by right click on the COMPUTER NAME_node) and try again.


    OK

    -------------------------------------------


    On starting the SQL Query Analyzer, firstly the message connecting to 'COMPUTER NAME' was seen and then it also gave the following error message:

    -------------------------------------------
    Unable to connect to server 'COMPUTER NAME':

    Server: Msg 17, Level 16, State 1

    [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][Shared Memory] SQL Server does not exist or access denied.


    OK

    -------------------------------------------

    where the 'COMPUTER NAME' stands for the name of the particular system that can be seen in System Properties-> Computer Name-> Full computer name.

    I had installed the MDAC Components from the Windows Update website.

    I checked the registration properties and have tried many times but everytime the same error messages were received in both the systems and all the efforts bore no fruits.

    Both the systems are:
    Intel P4
    WINXP PROF. v2002
    128MB DDR RAM
    40 GB HDD

    Please help soon as I am studying SQL Server!

    THANKS.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    You can only install client tools on a XP professional machine, but not the database (server part) itsself. You have to install the database on a Windows 2K(3) Server system. Another solution is to use the SQL Server 2000 developer edition, which can be installed on XP computers.
    Johan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    34

    Talking

    Alternatively install MSDE!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    MSDE is a good alternative to use instead of the SQL, but probably not the best choice if you want to study on the functionalities of the SQL Server and its tools as MSDE does not have the graphical interface.
    Johan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    34

    Wink

    This is true Johan.
    However in the absence of a server product and with client tools already installed it'd be better than nowt.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14

    Question Microsoft SQL Server 2000 installed and working on WINXP HOME!

    I was able to install the same on my PC having WINXP HOME, then why not on the other two systems, also having WINXP PROF.


    THANKS TO ALL HELPING MEMBERS - ATISH

    "Compatibilty without Flexibility is a Liability." :up:

    My System:
    MODEL: COMPAQ PRESARIO 6171AI
    INTEL P4-1.9 GHZ
    256MB + 256MB(SIMMTRONICS) = 512MB DDRSD RAM
    40GB MAXTOR 6E040L0 HDD
    WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION
    [5.1 (BUILD 2600) SERVICE PACK 2. RC 1 v.2096]
    SOUNDMAX INTEGRATED DIGITAL AUDIO

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    34

    Thumbs up

    Sorry Atish does that mean you got it working.
    See http://www.microsoft.com/sql/evaluat...00/default.asp for required specs.

    J

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3
    I actually have that setup in my house without a problem. Are you sure that the two computers can see each other? And you said that you registered the server with just the computer name? Make sure that you have the [computer name]\[named instance of the server]:
    e.g. MyComputer\MSSQL2K...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by abow123
    I actually have that setup in my house without a problem. Are you sure that the two computers can see each other? And you said that you registered the server with just the computer name? Make sure that you have the [computer name]\[named instance of the server]:
    e.g. MyComputer\MSSQL2K...
    The two computers are stand-alone and not networked. Installation is to be done on a stand-alone.
    THANKS TO ALL HELPING MEMBERS - ATISH

    "Compatibilty without Flexibility is a Liability." :up:

    My System:
    MODEL: COMPAQ PRESARIO 6171AI
    INTEL P4-1.9 GHZ
    256MB + 256MB(SIMMTRONICS) = 512MB DDRSD RAM
    40GB MAXTOR 6E040L0 HDD
    WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION
    [5.1 (BUILD 2600) SERVICE PACK 2. RC 1 v.2096]
    SOUNDMAX INTEGRATED DIGITAL AUDIO

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by SQLSurfer
    Sorry Atish does that mean you got it working.
    See http://www.microsoft.com/sql/evaluat...00/default.asp for required specs.

    J
    As you said that even if it gets installed it will not work.

    Now that I'm able to:
    1. Access and change the SQL Server Properties Page,
    2. Use the Query Analyzer for making tables and doing queries,
    3. Use the Enterprise Manager for starting and stopping the services of the Server, create new Database, etc.

    Now that above all is almost the entire functionality of a SQL Server 2000 that I'm having on my stand-alone PC whose
    configuration is as stated under.

    When it is installable on my system, then it must be possible to install it and make it work on a stand-alone PC having WINXP PRO which is more advanced.

    How to make this possible?
    THANKS TO ALL HELPING MEMBERS - ATISH

    "Compatibilty without Flexibility is a Liability." :up:

    My System:
    MODEL: COMPAQ PRESARIO 6171AI
    INTEL P4-1.9 GHZ
    256MB + 256MB(SIMMTRONICS) = 512MB DDRSD RAM
    40GB MAXTOR 6E040L0 HDD
    WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION
    [5.1 (BUILD 2600) SERVICE PACK 2. RC 1 v.2096]
    SOUNDMAX INTEGRATED DIGITAL AUDIO

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    What version of SQL Server have you installed? Standard, enterprise, personal, developer?
    Johan

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by jora
    What version of SQL Server have you installed? Standard, enterprise, personal, developer?
    I have installed SQL Server 2000 Enterprise Edition.
    THANKS TO ALL HELPING MEMBERS - ATISH

    "Compatibilty without Flexibility is a Liability." :up:

    My System:
    MODEL: COMPAQ PRESARIO 6171AI
    INTEL P4-1.9 GHZ
    256MB + 256MB(SIMMTRONICS) = 512MB DDRSD RAM
    40GB MAXTOR 6E040L0 HDD
    WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION
    [5.1 (BUILD 2600) SERVICE PACK 2. RC 1 v.2096]
    SOUNDMAX INTEGRATED DIGITAL AUDIO

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    721
    When you installed it, did you create the instance with the same name as your computer?

    I did this once and had to connect to the SQL Server with <computer name>\<computer name>, eg: WinPC1\WinPC1
    That which does not kill me postpones the inevitable.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Seppuku
    When you installed it, did you create the instance with the same name as your computer?

    I did this once and had to connect to the SQL Server with <computer name>\<computer name>, eg: WinPC1\WinPC1
    I did not have to do it. Installation took it by default, i.e., (LOCAL)
    THANKS TO ALL HELPING MEMBERS - ATISH

    "Compatibilty without Flexibility is a Liability." :up:

    My System:
    MODEL: COMPAQ PRESARIO 6171AI
    INTEL P4-1.9 GHZ
    256MB + 256MB(SIMMTRONICS) = 512MB DDRSD RAM
    40GB MAXTOR 6E040L0 HDD
    WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION
    [5.1 (BUILD 2600) SERVICE PACK 2. RC 1 v.2096]
    SOUNDMAX INTEGRATED DIGITAL AUDIO

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    KY
    Posts
    146

    Can you

    can you provide the output of
    Select @@version
    GO
    Select Serverproperty('Servername'),
    Serverproperty('Edition'),
    Serverproperty('Engine Edition'),
    Serverproperty('InstanceName')
    go



    from the Install which is working. I highly doubt it is Enterprise Version

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •