Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5

    Question Unanswered: Restore from istance 1 db A to istance 2 db B

    I've to copy an existing DB2 istance (1) to aonther one (2), and I've to copy all databases under istance 1.

    I try to restore from istance 1 db A into istance 2 db2 but DB2 coundn't permit me this.

    Can you help me?!
    Thank you very very much...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    96
    Please read the 'Must read before posting' and add the missing items to your post. Nobody can help you without knowing which OS etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5

    Sorry for my previous post...

    I run DB2 8 over Windows 2003 Srv, version:

    Product ident. SQL08013
    Level ident. 02040106
    Level DB2 v8.1.3.132
    Build level s030728
    PTF WR21324

    When I lunch the command:

    db2 RESTORE DATABASE PANTH01 FROM D:\Backup TAKEN AT 20040507103
    949 TO D: INTO PANTH03 WITH 2 BUFFERS BUFFER 1024 REDIRECT PARALLELISM 1 WITHOUT PROMPTING

    i would like to restore a previous Path01 backup into Panth03 istance; DB2 report to me:

    SQL2008N about callerec parameter...

    Are there another tip for replicate my db into another istance?!
    Thank you again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by franz82

    i would like to restore a previous Path01 backup into Panth03 istance
    What do you mean by restoring 'into panth03 instance' ?

    Did you create another DB2 Instance with the name panth03 to restore database panth01 into database panth03 or do you want to restore the database panth01 into database panth03 within the current DB2 instance?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by GertK
    What do you mean by restoring 'into panth03 instance' ?
    My first instance Panth01 has a database called Panth01. I need to create a new instance Panth03 and restore in it a backup of Path01 database. Finally, I will have:

    Instance Panth01
    |__ Database Panth01

    Instance Panth03
    |__ Database Panth03

    I need to use Panth01 becouse Panth01 and Panth03 are the same database structure.

    I hope that now you can mean correctly.
    Thank you for your help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    To create a new instance you need to run 'db2icrt' first. Then you can restore a database.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    96
    If you created the instance already (as n_i mentioned, use db2icrt for that) you need to do the following:

    - open a new DB2 window
    - change the DB2INSTANCE variable (set DB2INSTANCE=PANTH03)
    - db2 terminate (real important, don't forget this)
    - restore the db

    This should work, probably the 'restore db panth01 from d:\backup to d: into panth03' command should be enough already (instead of the full command you used).

    Hope this helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •