Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Thumbs down Unanswered: Relocating database

    Hi all,

    I am trying to relocate my database from drive d: to e:, using the db2relocatedb command. The configuration file is as below:

    relocate.cfg
    DB_NAME=TEST,TEST
    DB_PATH=D:\DB2,E:\DB2
    INSTANCE=DB2,DB2

    It says:
    DBT1019N Invalid database path specified in the configuration file.

    I did create the test database in D drive.

    I am running DB2 8.1.5 on Windows 2000 server

    Thanks in advance,

    Newbie
    Last edited by dsusendran; 05-10-04 at 12:13. Reason: additional information

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    513
    Quote Originally Posted by dsusendran
    Hi all,

    I am trying to relocate my database from drive d: to e:, using the db2relocatedb command. The configuration file is as below:

    relocate.cfg
    DB_NAME=TEST,TEST
    DB_PATH=D:\DB2,E:\DB2
    INSTANCE=DB2,DB2

    It says:
    DBT1019N Invalid database path specified in the configuration file.

    I am running DB2 8.1.5 on Windows 2000 server

    Thanks in advance,

    Newbie
    Try:
    DB_PATH=D:,E:
    --
    Jonathan Petruk
    DB2 Database Consultant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Talking Thanks

    Thanks. It worked!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6

    Moving database from instance to another instance

    What would be the config file and copy operation that I would need to do if I want to move a database from one instance to another (created instance).

    Using db2relocatedb command..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    513
    Quote Originally Posted by rng
    What would be the config file and copy operation that I would need to do if I want to move a database from one instance to another (created instance).

    Using db2relocatedb command..
    INSTANCE=DB2,NEWINST
    --
    Jonathan Petruk
    DB2 Database Consultant

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    513
    Here's the most up-to-date docs I could find...

    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...e/r0004500.htm
    --
    Jonathan Petruk
    DB2 Database Consultant

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Talking Here is the syntax

    >>-db2relocatedb---f--configFilename---------------------------><

    -f configFilename
    Specifies the name of the file containing configuration information necessary for relocating the database. This can be a relative or absolute filename. The format of the configuration file is:
    DB_NAME=oldName,newName
    DB_PATH=oldPath,newPath
    INSTANCE=oldInst,newInst
    NODENUM=nodeNumber
    LOG_DIR=oldDirPath,newDirPath
    CONT_PATH=oldContPath1,newContPath1
    CONT_PATH=oldContPath2,newContPath2

    Name the configFilename as *.CFG

    Cheers,
    Newbie

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6

    Db2relocate error

    I want to move a database from db2inst4 to db2inst2 instance
    Here is my config file:
    DB_NAME=NEWTEST
    DB_PATH=/home/db2inst4,/home/db2inst2
    INSTANCE=db2inst4,db2inst2
    NODENUM=0

    when a execute the command it give this error message
    $ db2relocatedb -f relocate.cfg
    DBT1025N Neither old nor new database name were found in the database directory.

    This is my list database directory in db2inst2 session:

    $ db2 "list database directory"

    System Database Directory

    Number of entries in the directory = 2

    Database 1 entry:

    Database alias = TEST
    Database name = TEST
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst2
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Database 2 entry:

    Database alias = NEWTEST
    Database name = NEWTEST
    Node name = DB2INST4
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Remote
    Catalog database partition number = -1

    And my list directory in db2inst4 session:

    db2inst4 pts/1 May 11 10:13 (172.26.252.14)
    $ db2 "list database directory"

    System Database Directory

    Number of entries in the directory = 3

    Database 1 entry:

    Database alias = ATEST
    Database name = ATEST
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst4
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Database 2 entry:

    Database alias = TRAAV
    Database name = TRAAV
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst4
    Database release level = a.00
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Database 3 entry:

    Database alias = NEWTEST
    Database name = NEWTEST
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst4
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Any advise is welcome to help to solve this problem.

    I am using AIX 5 and DB2 version 8.1

    Regards

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    513
    Quote Originally Posted by rng
    I want to move a database from db2inst4 to db2inst2 instance
    Here is my config file:
    DB_NAME=NEWTEST
    DB_PATH=/home/db2inst4,/home/db2inst2
    INSTANCE=db2inst4,db2inst2
    NODENUM=0

    when a execute the command it give this error message
    $ db2relocatedb -f relocate.cfg
    DBT1025N Neither old nor new database name were found in the database directory.

    This is my list database directory in db2inst2 session:

    $ db2 "list database directory"

    System Database Directory

    Number of entries in the directory = 2

    Database 1 entry:

    Database alias = TEST
    Database name = TEST
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst2
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Database 2 entry:

    Database alias = NEWTEST
    Database name = NEWTEST
    Node name = DB2INST4
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Remote
    Catalog database partition number = -1

    And my list directory in db2inst4 session:

    db2inst4 pts/1 May 11 10:13 (172.26.252.14)
    $ db2 "list database directory"

    System Database Directory

    Number of entries in the directory = 3

    Database 1 entry:

    Database alias = ATEST
    Database name = ATEST
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst4
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Database 2 entry:

    Database alias = TRAAV
    Database name = TRAAV
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst4
    Database release level = a.00
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Database 3 entry:

    Database alias = NEWTEST
    Database name = NEWTEST
    Local database directory = /home/db2inst4
    Database release level = a.00
    Comment =
    Directory entry type = Indirect
    Catalog database partition number = 0

    Any advise is welcome to help to solve this problem.

    I am using AIX 5 and DB2 version 8.1

    Regards
    Why is NEWTEST already cataloged in both instances?
    --
    Jonathan Petruk
    DB2 Database Consultant

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6

    Db2relocatedb

    If newtest is not cataloged in instance it would give me error
    DBT1025N Neither old nor new database
    name were found in the database
    directory.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165
    Try:

    DB_NAME=NEWTEST,NEWTEST
    DB_PATH=/home/db2inst4,/home/db2inst2
    INSTANCE=db2inst4,db2inst2

    You did not specify new database name. Nodenum is optional.

    Newbie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •