Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    65

    Unanswered: Merging Access data with fillable PDF form

    I have a DB with students records and need to print a form showing their educational credits. I'm thinking to recreate the government form using Access, however I wonder if I can safe time by using a pdf fillable form. So here is my delema: how do I get data from access to populate a fillable pdf form?

    Any other ideas that may help solve the problem are welcome.

    Thanks,

    Jazz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Have you tried creating an Access report?

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    65

    Question

    Not really. But this would actually mean recreating the standart form as a report. It would be an option.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    You can also print the form. You could create a button on the Access form to print it out. Would that be an option? You could make it print either all records or just that particular one.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    65
    Yes, I do understand this. My questions is rather different: how can I save time by using an already existing fillable pdf form and populate it with the appropriate data. Another think to consider is the fact that the government PDF form is locked - would I be able to integrate it with Access at all?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Hrm. I dont think I can be of any assistance . I think even though it is locked you should be able to still use it with Access I just dont know how.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MN US
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by jazz novice
    Yes, I do understand this. My questions is rather different: how can I save time by using an already existing fillable pdf form and populate it with the appropriate data. Another think to consider is the fact that the government PDF form is locked - would I be able to integrate it with Access at all?
    Hello,

    I've run across this myself with some govt forms. The only solution I came up with was to scan the pdf into a graphic (tif or jpg, can't remember which worked better).
    I then used the graphic as a backround for the report and dropped controls over it.
    It was cumbersome but the end result was ok.
    I'd also like to know if anyone has a better way.

    HTH,

    Chris

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    65

    Unhappy Thanks

    Thank you all for your help. I guess, I will go ahead with building a report. It seems that there is no lazy way out of it...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,312
    I don't know how to populate an existing PDF, but I do collect data from a PDF using the same ideas in the follwoing code:

    Code:
    Public Sub ShowFieldValues(strFilename As String)
    
        Dim formApp As AFORMAUTLib.AFormApp
        Dim acroForm As AFORMAUTLib.Fields
        Dim field As AFORMAUTLib.field
        Dim bOK As Boolean
        Dim avDoc As CAcroAVDoc
    
        Set avDoc = CreateObject("AcroExch.AVDoc")
        bOK = avDoc.Open(strFilename, "title of PDF")
    
        Set formApp = CreateObject("AFormAut.App")
        Set acroForm = formApp.Fields
        Dim myField As AFORMAUTLib.field
    
        For Each myField In acroForm
            If (myField.Type = "text") Then
                'If InStr(1, myField.Name, "SSTOTAL_") <> 0 Then
                
                    Debug.Print "***" & myField.Name & " - " & myField.Value & "***"
                    
                'End If
            End If
        Next myField
    
        avDoc.Close (False)
        Set avDoc = Nothing
        Set formApp = Nothing
        Set acroForm = Nothing
        
    End Sub
    If I remember correctly, you need Adobe Acrobat on the system. And you also need a reference to the Adobe library:

    AFormAut 1.0 Type Library
    And possibly Adobe ?.0 Type Library

    Basically, just like Access, each "control" in a PDF has a name. I would assume that you could open the PDF set the data using the names and then save the PDF. But I have never tried it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •