Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    99

    Unanswered: NEED Help urgently!!!

    Can anyone please help me with this problem...

    working merrily on database when I want to shut down I get this dialog box

    "The macro or function set to the BeforeUpdate or Validation Rule property for this field is preventing Microsoft Access from saving the data in the field."

    *If this is a macro, open the macro in the Macro window and remove the action that forces a save (for example, GoToControl)
    *If the macro includes a SetValue action, set the macro to the AfterUpdate property of the control instead.
    *If this is a function, redefine the function in the Module window"

    OK

    Problem is 1) I'm a novice so no dirty tech talk 2) not to my knowledge have I set any functions, macros or clever action stuff.

    Done this several times over last few days losing any work I have done on db.

    Currently not pressing the OK button since I don not want to lose work.

    Any help very welcome.

    Thanks and have a good day.

    David
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Have you tried the Compact and Repair option under the Tools Menu?

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    99
    The whole thing seems to be hanging, can't shut down and the repair action seems to do nothing either. CTRL ALT DEL doesn't indicate any probs with Not Responding prog. Not sure what to do now but thanks for trying to help

    David
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    You may want to create another database and import everything. See what that does for you.

    Also...
    How large is your database?
    How long have you let your Compact and Repair run?

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    118
    are you using a form to populate the database?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    99
    about 3MB in size, and I've left Compact and Repair run for a few mins, how long should it take?

    Not letting me do a great deal, have tried to import or save into new db but still not playing nicely

    ty again
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    99
    yes I am using a form, probably a very messy form as I have approx 200 fields to fulfill per co entry
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Being the fact it is such a small database it shouldnt take long for the compact and repair unless there is a major problem. maybe tonight you should just try and let it run compact and repair all night long.

    Do you just have one form and one table?

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    99
    closed it down the easy way CTRL ALT DEL and lost a couple of hours work.....bummer

    now can run the compact and repair very easily which whizzes thru' v quickly so not an issue there

    I am multitasking between net, word, excel, notepad, DOS etc and doing a lot of cut and pasting, I'm guessing I am getting my CTRL V, CTRL X, CTRL C mixed up between apps as I whizz along and maybe at some point I press the wrong CTRL function in wrong app and balls up Access?

    Thanks again for your help, do you know of a definitive list out there for all the CTRL shortcut keys, may shed some light on possibility of pressing wrong CTRL key?

    David
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    I dont have a list and that is a good possibility... You may want to look on www.google.com and www.altavista.com

    Another thing you may want to try is setup an excel sheet the same exact way your table is setup... then do all of your copy and pasting. From there you can import the excel sheet into the table with the top row containing the headers. And you most likely wont lose any information. You may want to do that until you get this all straightened out.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    99
    Thanks for your help, can I instant message you if you are online, something really odd is happening which I'd really like some help on?

    Thanks,

    David
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    I will PM you with my work AIM s/n.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    99
    Thanks but have just realised I don't have AIM on this machine, can you MSN Messenger, if so can you PM that to me and I'll catch up tomorrow?

    I'm from the UK and now 9 pm have to get on with some home stuff.

    Catch up tomorrow,

    Thanks
    pachamama
    www.researchbank.co.uk
    Fortune Global 500 Databank

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Could you possibly get aim... I dont have any others, and I really dont like them... though if you cant dload at work I will get msn.

    Thanks,
    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •