Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Timestamp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294

    Unanswered: Timestamp

    Hello I'm Using Oracle 8i and when I do:

    SQL> SELECT systimestamp from dual;
    SELECT systimestamp from dual
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-00904: invalid column name


    What is wrong ???

    Is anything disabled??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    136
    Using systimestamp or timestamp i get the same error-message.
    But
    SELECT sysdate from dual;
    works.
    Regards,
    Julia

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294
    SYSDATE is not enough, I need systimestamp for the miliseconds

    Thanks !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    select current_timestamp from dual;

    CURRENT_TIMESTAMP
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    12-MAY-04 08.24.10.126191 AM -07:00
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    I don't think there is a timestamp option in 8i

    You can store java to get millisecs however.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2
    Try
    SELECT TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'MM/DD/YYYY HH24:MIS') FROM dual;

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    49
    SELECT TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'MM/DD/YYYY HH24:MISSS') FROM dual;

    In 8i you can get to centi seconds

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294

    Question mmmmmmmm I don't know

    Quote Originally Posted by borzoi313
    SELECT TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'MM/DD/YYYY HH24:MISSS') FROM dual;

    In 8i you can get to centi seconds

    I think thats wrong,

    You are repeating seconds again when you do SSSS that's not centi second I think !

    Thanks a lot !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    89
    I dont think we can get milliseconds in oracle 8i
    Thanks and Regards,

    Praveen Pulikunnu

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •