Angry Unanswered: Help required updating SQL db

Hi there using Microsoft Commerce Server and I'm new to SQL and development so I'm hoping someone here might be able to help me.

I'm trying to customize my 'product_new.asp' page to include my own additional fields which will be posted into my SQL db.

My form is populated with 2 types of fields...text boxes and check boxes.

<INPUT TYPE="text" SIZE="32" NAME="name" VALUE="<%= Request("name") %>" onChange="dirty = true"><input type="checkbox" name="web_publish" value="<%= Request("web_publish") %>" onChange="dirty = true" checked>

I've been trying to use the following code to update the fields in the db.

cmdTemp.CommandText = Replace("SELECT * FROM store_product WHERE pf_id = ?", "?", "'" & Replace(Request("pf_id"),"'","''") & "'")
    Set rsProduct = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
    rsProduct.Open cmdTemp, , adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic
    rsProduct.AddNew
    rsProduct("pf_id").value = pf_id
    rsProduct("name").Value = mscsPage.RequestString("name", "", 1, 255)
    rsProduct("web_publish").Value = mscsPage.RequestNumber("web_publish", "", 1, 255)
    rsProduct.Update

The properties for the 'web_publish' field in SQL is set as a small (one byte) integer field.

The 'name' value works okay... 'web_publish' does not. I really don't know what I'm doing someone please help! I hope all of this makes sense to you.

Thanks.

KEV

What do you mean by "The 'name' value works okay... 'web_publish' does not"? Can you expound upon that? What's the expected result, and what is it doing you don't want it to do?

Second, you don't need to do that Replace. You can leave the question marks if you use parameters in your command object. It's a safer way to go.
    That which does not kill me postpones the inevitable.

Quote Originally Posted by Seppuku