Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3

    Question Unanswered: Determining MDAC and Service Pack

    I am new to MS SQL 2000 and have a couple of questions. First, how do you check the version of MDAC that Windows 2003 server is running and second, how do you determine what service pack that SQL is at.

    I am having issues of extreme slowness using ODBC. I checked to see that tracing was not enabled and found that it wasn't. I am using TCP/IP for the connection.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Dark Planet
    Posts
    1,401
    @@Version SQL Server Version
    6.50.201 SQL Server 6.5 RTM
    6.50.213 SQL Server 6.5 with Service Pack 1
    6.50.240 SQL Server 6.5 with Service Pack 2
    6.50.258 SQL Server 6.5 with Service Pack 3
    6.50.281 SQL Server 6.5 with Service Pack 4
    6.50.415 SQL Server 6.5 with Service Pack 5
    6.50.416 SQL Server 6.5 with Service Pack 5a
    7.00.623 SQL Server 7.0 / MSDE 1.0 RTM
    7.00.699 SQL Server 7.0 SP1
    7.00.842 SQL Server 7.0 SP2
    7.00.961 SQL Server 7.0 SP3
    7.00.1063 SQL Server 7.0 SP4
    8.00.194 SQL Server 2000 RTM
    8.00.384 SQL Server 2000 SP1
    8.00.534 SQL Server 2000 SP2
    8.00.760 SQL Server 2000 SP3

    For MDAC version :
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=301202
    Last edited by Enigma; 05-14-04 at 16:56.
    Get yourself a copy of the The Holy Book

    order has no physical Brett in The meaning of a Kaiser . -database data

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3

    How about SP3a?

    Thanks, It looks like I'm now at SP3. Do you think that installing SP3a might help?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    734
    You sure you're at SP3? SP3a is also 8.00.760. The easiest way to tell is if your MDAC hasn't been upgraded to 2.71a or whatever it is.

    Anyway, you aren't supposed to install SP3a if you have already installed SP3. You can install the three fixes though that were specific to 3a and the one update that has came out since then.

    For more information look here:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;306908

    You can apply the three fixes from there.
    MeanOldDBA
    derrickleggett@hotmail.com
    When life gives you a lemon, fire the DBA.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    54
    You can also distinguish SP3 and SP3a by checking the file version of ssnetlib.dll.

    2000.80.760.0 - SP3
    2000.80.766.0 - SP3a

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Can't you just use:
    Code:
    SELECT ServerProperty('ProductLevel')
    -PatP

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    54
    Pat,

    It will only show you SP3 for both SP3 and SP3a.



    Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •