Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    19

    Question Unanswered: Hi knights, do you get error "Invalid Instance" ?

    I create 2 instances SQL Server in the same server using port 1433, unluckily when i connect they from the remote pc, it doesn't connect and alert "Invalid Instance". How can i use many instances? And what special when i replicate them?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Check out KB #287932. It explains what you need in more detail than I care to retype!

    -PatP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    19
    What a pity PatP, it happens even all clients and the server in a Lan group with a hub without firewall on server.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    So it isn't the remote clients as you originally posted? Did the local clients work and then stop, or never work at all? Can you connect from any machine except the server itself? Can you connect to the instances on the server itself?

    -PatP

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    19

    Wink PatP

    All clients can't connect to but the server can.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    I suspect that the problem may be because you've set up two instances to use the same TCP port. If you check the KB article I cited, each instance normally has its own port, and the port usages are arbitrated by port 1434. Only the default (unnamed) instance of SQL Server should use port 1433.

    I'd suggest that you try to reconfigure the server that way to see if it works.

    -PatP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •