Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17

    Exclamation Unanswered: recover database with no redo log

    Hi,


    I have lost all redo logs including current. Is there any way to recover the database.

    I tried to recover with until cancel and I got the foloowing error
    ORA-01194: file 1 needs more recovery to be consistent

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    I suppose you have export file from tonight's backup, haven't you? So how about recreating the database, and then importing the data?

    I surely hope there IS less painful process to recover your database ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17
    Thanks for reply

    I have rman backup. how do I recreate DB from it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35

    Recover

    The database must be mount .
    From RMAN run commands:
    restore database;
    recover database;
    because you have not redo logs RMAN will give you some errors.
    Go to sqlplus and type
    alter database open resetlogs
    Before you do it, please backup controlfiles
    Last edited by bato; 05-18-04 at 04:00.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17
    I got the following error but my database is up ..

    Thanks

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: recover(4)
    RMAN-03026: error recovery releasing channel resources
    RMAN-08031: released channel: c1
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ================================================== =========
    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: recover
    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: recover(4)
    RMAN-06054: media recovery requesting unknown log: thread 1 scn 257206

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35
    Can you show your backup script?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35
    Are you using recovery catalog for rman backup?
    please start rman
    connect on the target and optional to catalog
    type commands:
    list backup;
    show all;
    and show me the results.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17
    run{
    allocate channel c1 type disk
    format '/local/dat07/oratrn01/shm/backup/shm_dat_%s.bak';
    backup incremental level 1 database ;
    release channel c1;
    allocate channel c1 type disk
    format '/local/dat07/oratrn01/shm/backup/shm_arc_%s.bak';
    backup archivelog all ;
    }

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35
    try it:

    run{
    allocate channel c1 type disk
    format '/local/dat07/oratrn01/shm/backup/shm_dat_%s.bak';
    restore database;
    recover database;
    release channel c1;
    }

    send me the results

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    17
    It work fine. May I know what was wrong.

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Republic of Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    35
    you must allocate channel with same format as in backup script;

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •