Unanswered: If Then Statements

I am somewhat new to Access. I am trying to create an IF/Then statement in a commission database that I created. The database has a field called [Profit Margin]. It has another one called [total Sales Price]. And lastly one called [IC Bonus]. The value of [IC Bonus] is based on the [Profit Margin] of the job. So if the [Profit Margin] is 36%, then multiply the [Total Sales Price] by .003. However, if the [profit margin] is between 37 and 39%, then multiply the [Total Sales Price] by .004. Can anyone help me with this?

Create a function in VBA to accomplish this calculation for you, i will bet there is more to this calculation than you are saying....

Regards

P.S. Why do you store this calculated value? Normalization rules say you shouldnt... store calculated values...

Do you have an example of how to create this function? Your help will be much appreciated.

This is what I have so far, however it doesn't work.

If ([total profit margin] = 35 - 36) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.003
    If ([total profit margin] = 37 - 38) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.004
    If ([total profit margin] = 39 - 40) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.005
    If ([total profit margin] = 41 - 42) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.006
    If ([total profit margin] = 43 - 44) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.007
    If ([total profit margin] = 44 - 45) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.008
    If ([total profit margin] = 46 - 47) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.009
    If ([total profit margin] >= 49) Then
    [IC Bonus] = [total sales price] * 0.01

End If
    Last edited by jor47; 05-19-04 at 08:38.

Quote Originally Posted by jor47