Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Some Basic Overview questions

I've done some basic database stuff with Access and ASP, but I have a client who has told me that he is in over his head and wants me to try getting his "mini CMS" site to work. He told me that he set everything up in Dreamweaver using ASP and "MSSQL"

I have never used what he calls: "MSSQL" before. Do I need software to create an "MSSQL" database? or is it all coded?

Also, one other question. The whole purpose of this site is to have Admin users log in to a page where they can edit the content of a page and upload it. If there is a large block of text, does it all reside in a field in the database, or would it be a link to a text file? kind of like linking to an image since images don't actually reside in the database.

Thanks for any direction you might have
    BEN

MSSQL = Microsoft SQL Server

Yes, you'll need to purchase the software to manage it. You can store the text in a "text" datatype within SQL Server. As for storing images in a DB, you can do that too.
    That which does not kill me postpones the inevitable.

Thanks but can you clarify? I'm not physically on the server. I just want to connect to the server, upload a database, and then connect to it.

What do you mean by "manage it"?

If your client already has SQL Server then you just need to install Enterprise Manager from the Micrsoft SQL Server installation CD.

Once you have Enterprise Manager installed you can connect to the SQL Server, view the databases, create new ones, execute queries, etc (aka "Manage").

When you say "upload a database", what do you mean? Are you trying to convert an Access database to SQL Server?

I think I understand Maybe

I'm used to Access where I have MSACCESS installed on my computer, I build the database, then upload it to my server where I use ASP to connect to the database and display the info in an html page.