Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2

    Unanswered: Query time massively different between App and QA

    We have a query (a few actually) which runs for about 30 secs via Siebel 6 and the same query takes on 1 or 2 secs in Query Analyser, consistently. Naturally this performance problem is causing issues. We're wondering if the App isn't using the same execution plan, or using the indexes or....
    It might be worth noting that the query returns 1 or no rows.
    (I can add the query and more detail if anyone really, really wants )

    The devlopers have created a VB app which mimmics to app running the query and we've put it through proflier, results..
    Duration Reads CPU
    Siebel Query 28300 3661280 23984

    It seems a high number of reads there, and the result from QA is SO much faster.
    Any ideas welcome, thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    4
    Mmmmmmm, looks to me like your application is likely to be the root cause. How does Siebel access the DB? Named Pipes, TCPIP?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2
    I'm told Siebel uses Names Pipes.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    4
    Mmmmm, seen named pipes cause an issue before, I think the app ends up scanning through several ports before finding the correct one?

    Will do some head scratching

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    There are a number of tools that use an older TDS library (some even using DB-Library) that get lousy performance from queries that run well in Query Analyzer. It seems to me that Siebel can be fixed by simply upgrading the client machine's MDAC, but I don't regularly run Siebel so I'm not certain of that.

    -PatP

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    4
    Now that is a smart idea. JamesB, you may want to check which version of MDAC the client machines have. I think the current version of MDAC is 2,7. 2.8 has apparently just been released but judging from all the woes on the forum I doubt that would be the one to use at the moment.

    Ideally, the client and server MDACs should be the same version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •