Unanswered: How to get User's NT Account?

Hi Guys!

I am trying to put together a small web application to be used in our company's intranet. Using ASP.Net (to which I am a newbie) I am trying to to build a public start page accessible by everybody and a permission controlled area for managers. My intial idea is to use Windows NT account info to determine who has permission to access what areas.

My first question is: Is it possible to read the user's NT account name (the account they use to login to their workstation) when they try to open a particular asp page? If yes, how to do that?

My second question is: Am I taking the right approch or should I consider another way to do this?

Thanks,

Request.ServerVariables("LOGON_USER")

There's an HTTP header called "LOGON_USER". In ASP (not .Net) you could get this with the code:

sUser = Request.ServerVariables("LOGON_USER")

I'm not sure what the equivalent is in .NET

With that said, I don't believe it's available all the time. For example, when I launch some code that displays all my header variables, I don't see my ID in the LOGON_USER header. It may be due to the Novell client that is installed, but I'm not sure.

An alternative is to have a login form that authenticates against your NT domain. I can try to provide some samples (all my code authenticates against LDAP, but the process should be very similar) if necessary.