Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Of all places, Dayton, OH
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Unanswered: informix error code -931

    When trying to start informix Dynamic Server (7.31) on W2K obx, get the -931 error. Checked \etc\services file, proper entry exists. Setnet 32, proper setup exists. All environment vars set. Tried to create and init new server instance, doesn't work either. Any help much appreciated. TIA!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    780
    Hi,

    Please, observe that the service (name xxxx/tcp) is not the last line of the file services.

    Gustavo.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Of all places, Dayton, OH
    Posts
    4
    Thanks, but I have 1 carriage return at the end of the file. Amazingly enough, the last service (apache 19999/tcp) works just fine!

    Has anyone had problems with anti-virus programs closing access to port 1526? Are there problems if Oracle is also running someplace on the network, although on the other side of a router?

    Thanks again! (Have a great weekend...)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    780
    Hi,

    Ok, test if the user Informix belong to group Admin on Windows.
    Another check with command Ilogin.

    Gustavo.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Of all places, Dayton, OH
    Posts
    4

    Post

    Hadn't thought of that one; tried it, rebooted (just to make sure), no change. Ilogin still doesn't work. Tried using the port number (1526) as an apache port, worked just fine! Set it back to use as Informix port, no go.
    Thanks for the input(s).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    248
    make sure that the onsoctcp or olsoctcp entries match in setnet32

    Also win2000 and winXP have the service file in two places, make sure you editing the right one
    You want \windows\system32\drivers\etc\services if I remember correctly

    Just a thought

    )))
    Last edited by artemka; 05-28-04 at 18:23.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Of all places, Dayton, OH
    Posts
    4
    Thanks,

    The entries in setnet32 are correct, and the correct services file was updated. Just to be safe, I copied the backup services file from c:\I386, modified it with the Informix service data, and put it in the etc\ folder. Still no go.

    Has anyone had any problems with Informix with W2K service pack 4?

    TIA.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •