Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    30

    Question Unanswered: Software Restristion

    I'm Using Oracle 8.i at Back end and Developer 6i at Front End.

    I want to that is there any Method that i can only Run my Software to ONE System. No bosy can Run its Copy on the Other system.

    Is it Possible. If Yes. Then plz give any Suggestion and Hints.

    One thing more that can i Make one File on all the Forms Created in Developer.

    Thanks In advance.
    Kashif

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,171
    Provided Answers: 1
    1) What do you mean by "system"? Do you mean the form can be run only against one particular database? If so, I suppose you could do this in the WHEN-NEW-FORM-INSTANCE trigger:

    IF get_application_property(connect_string) != 'the_right_db' THEN
    message('Wrong database');
    EXIT_FORM;
    END IF;

    2) You could store all the forms into one file using something like Winzip, but to use them they must be separate files.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    30
    and what about that if the User will assign the Same Database Name on the Other System....

    Is it Possible to Package all the Form (Like VB Do).
    No using Winzip. bcz i cant run this software if it is Ziped

    Can i Restrict the Forms from Runnig Seperatly.
    Means no One cant be able to Run the Form Directly.
    they can only Run the Form from its Menu.
    Kashif

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,171
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by KashifDBA
    and what about that if the User will assign the Same Database Name on the Other System....
    That would defeat the check I gave. But why would you care if they did anyway? They can't harm your database if they do!

    Quote Originally Posted by KashifDBA
    Is it Possible to Package all the Form (Like VB Do).
    No using Winzip. bcz i cant run this software if it is Ziped
    No.

    Quote Originally Posted by KashifDBA
    Can i Restrict the Forms from Runnig Seperatly.
    Means no One cant be able to Run the Form Directly.
    they can only Run the Form from its Menu.
    Again, I don't think so, other than programmatically. You could have the main menu form set a global variable, and all other forms to check that the global has been set.

    Someone else may chime in with other ideas.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    30
    It is a Good idea.

    is this globle variable can be accessed in all the Forms.

    if i declare it in the Main Form.
    How can i Access it in the Other Forms.
    Kashif

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,171
    Provided Answers: 1
    Something like this:

    DEFAULT_VALUE('NO','GLOBAL.CHECK_MENU_USED');
    IF :GLOBAL.CHECK_MENU_USED = 'NO' THEN
    message('Form not called from main menu');
    EXIT_FORM;
    END IF;

    And in the main menu form put:

    :GLOBAL.CHECK_MENU_USED := 'YES';

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •