Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: processes (15) exceeded but set 150 in ora.ini file

    Hello Gurus,

    i get following error message:

    ORA-00020: maximum number of processes (15) exceeded

    I read lot about this error and i opened the ora.ini file. I found out that the amount of processes is set to 150 (!).

    So my question is, why are 15 processes available, only ?


    Thanks in advance !

    b509

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    When things do not appear to be as they should be, they probably aren't (as the should be).
    I suspect that Oracle is not using the iniSID.ora file, but the spfileSID.ora.


    What does the following SELECT display?
    select name, value
    from v$parameter
    where name like 'proc%';
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    Hi,

    thanks for answering.

    The sql statement shows: 15 processes
    I searched for spfilesid.ora, but i cannot find it.

    Could you explain me the situation ?

    Thanks,

    b509

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5

    it is so urgent

    again me -
    can i just set the processes value in the v$parameter to what i want ?
    But why do i have it in the ora.ini again !?


    b509

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >can i just set the processes value in the v$parameter to what i want ?
    AFAIK, all of the "V$* views" provide visibility into dynamic memory structures in te SGA; none of which should EVER be updated directly.
    Besides the values in the evaporate into the bit bucket or /dev/null when the instance is shutdown; so even if you could change it while the database was up, it would revert back to 15 the next time the DB started.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5

    so..what shall i do ?

    Hi,

    so just tell me please, what shall i do. Where can i change the number of processes if it is not ora.ini and not the v$para(...) table ?

    b509

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation

    errm.... if the databse is running in migration modus...erm....can it be that there are automatically just 15 processes available instead of 150 ?

    Or is this a license problem ?

    b509

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    370
    The processes parameter is a static one which means you need to stop/restart the database in order for it to pick up the new value.

    If you are using an SPFILE:

    alter system set processes=<number> scope=spfile;


    Then bounce the database.

    Your license will not be enforced by the Oracle software.
    It is up to you to ensure you are running the database within your license agreement.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •