Unanswered: Linux to Unix copy files

Hello

Let me declare that I'm a newbie to Unix shell.

We have a Linux server and many Unix stations. I know how to mount/umount and NFS between Linux and the Unix machines.

However I do not know how to copy a file/directory from Unix (hostname: sci_h12) to Linux m/c (host name in the n/w: e90testserver). I can FTP, Telnet into the Linux box but CANNOT copy files which, I think would be good to code into the shell script. 'rcp' command does not work saying 'connection refused', even though I tried with and without /username=<> /password=<>.

Could anyone let me knwo the reason and steps/commands to solve this problem?

Thanks!
    Mahesh

Quote Originally Posted by jaymahesh
    Hello

We have a Linux server and many Unix stations. I know how to mount/umount and NFS between Linux and the Unix machines.

However I do not know how to copy a file/directory from Unix (hostname: sci_h12) to Linux m/c (host name in the n/w: e90testserver). I can FTP, Telnet into the Linux box but CANNOT copy files which, I think would be good to code into the shell script. 'rcp' command does not work saying 'connection refused', even though I tried with and without /username=<> /password=<>.

Thanks!
    Mahesh
    Hi,
    every OS use the the same commands for FTP.
    /
    ftp xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx IP or [uname] written in /etc/hosts
    enter username and password *1
    get or mget [filename] : will send the remote-file to your local direktory
    put or mput [filename] : will send the local-file to the remote directory
    quit : exit the ftp-session

*1 if you dont want to give user and pass for every ftp-login again :
    - look at the tread : ftp without a username and password
    Last edited by fla5do; 05-30-04 at 18:37.
    Greetings from germany
    Peter F.

try scp ( preferred to rcp) like below and see if this works,
    assuming you have access to both machine.

scp sci_h12:/home/user1/dir1/file1 e90testserver:/home/user1/dir2/file2