Unanswered: update related file automatically

Hi, I'm new to access but fluent in filemaker. What I would ultimately like to do is have table customer related to customer info. the related fields would be customer ID for both. When I enter a new customer name, it would create, a new record for customer info and enter the ([customer] customer id) in the ([customer info] customer id) field so that I would have a record dedicated to the new customer in the customer info field.
    Thanks for the help, let me know if you need more info.
    Raif
    raif@mailblocks.com

Quote Originally Posted by Raif
    Hi, I'm new to access but fluent in filemaker. What I would ultimately like to do is have table customer related to customer info. the related fields would be customer ID for both. When I enter a new customer name, it would create, a new record for customer info and enter the ([customer] customer id) in the ([customer info] customer id) field so that I would have a record dedicated to the new customer in the customer info field.
    Thanks for the help, let me know if you need more info.
    Raif
    raif@mailblocks.com
    Hi Raif and welcome to the forum,
    Just read your post and sounds like you already have it taken care of. You have your tables set up correctly already, or at least you have the basic concept of it. When you created the tables did you set up the Relationships also? If you are asking HOW to create such tables let me know and will try to help you get there step by step. I am unfamiliar with FileMaker and not sure if it handles things similar fashion to Access or not. I'll be checking back on you.

Bud

Thanks for getting back to me. I have the tables and their related etc, the part I'm haveing trouble with is this part
    "it would create, a new record for customer info and enter the ([customer] customer id) in the ([customer info] customer id) field so that I would have a record dedicated to the new customer in the customer info field."